Roti Kasur (half wholemeal)

Making bread is therapeutic. Watching the ingredients transforming into a dough, touching the dough to see if it feels right, keeping close eyes on the dough development, and finally stretching the dough for windowpane testing. Probably the desire to relive this feeling is what motivates me to make bread more than the desire to eat the bread itself.

This is the first time I have made bread using wholemeal flour. It was unplanned, although I had always “baking wholemeal bread” in my to-make list. As I had not been baking bread for a month or so, I forgot that I had not stocked up on bread flour. When I realised this, I did not want to abandon my baking plan, so decided to substitute wholemeal flour for the shortage in the bread flour. Luckily the bread turned fine and was edible. It was still soft the following day. I did not wait for the dough to become elastic and reach windowpane as I thought it never would due to the wholemeal flour, so I stopped the mixer after the dough looks good enough and relied on the miracle of “autolysis” :). Afterwards I saw a video on youtube showing that windowpane is actually possible with a half/half bread flour and wholemeal flour.



Recipe sourced from “icenguik” Instagram account. I do not recommend changing the recipe (I did it only accidentally due to the bread flour shortage :).

Ingredients
250 gr bread flour (I used 150 gr bread flour and 100 gr wholemeal flour)
100 gr milk powder
30 gr sugar
173 ml milk

3 gr yeast

3 gr salt
25 gr butter

How to
1. Mix flour, milk powder, sugar and milk in a bowl. Knead until the mixture comes together (I mix it with KA mixer speed 2 for about 3 mins).
2. Add yeast and continue mixing for a few minutes.
3. Add salt, then butter (gradually).
4. Continue kneading until the butter is fully absorbed by the dough (KA mixer speed 2 mins for 3-5 mins followed by speed 3 for about 2 mins for final kneading).
5. Shape into a ball, place it on a lightly oiled bowl, cover the bowl and leave it to ferment until it doubles in size. (It took me 1.5 hrs in a 23C temperature).
6. Divide the dough into 16 (30 gr each) and round them up. Rest them for 10 mins.
7. If making plain buns, round them up and place them on a 20cm x 20cm baking tin lined with parchment paper. I filled the buns with chocolate and black sesame mixture, which was leftovers from making tangyuan a while back.
8. Let the buns rise for 45 mins to 1 hour.
9. Preheat the oven to 160 – 170 C fan forced
10. Bake for 20 mins.



Leave a comment